Favorite Book From Childhood

This prompt was an easy one; I didn’t need to think about it. My favorite childhood book has to be Dr. Suess’s “Green Eggs and Ham”. I loved all the Dr. Suess’s books that my Mom ordered or bought for my brother and I. I took to them like a fish takes to water.

The moral of the story still lingers in my mind as far as food goes, never say you don’t like something until you have tried it. I know people who have never tried a cuisine or delicacy because of the color or how it looks. Same goes for anything in life, don’t judge what you see by simply the cover.

Posted on June 7, 2012, in books, plinky and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. You loved the books. you learned them by heart. You sat on my knee and I read to you at first. You learned to read them yourself so fast. Very special times for me.

  2. I think I need to read me some Dr. Seuss. It has been so sooo long and I bet many of them…if not all are such a treat!!

    My favourite childhood book was David’s Father by Robert Munsch. I remember my kindergarten teacher reading it and saying the girl was me. I also read Charlotte’s Web so many times my Mom had to tape pages back together.

  3. Thanks for reading my post, I really enjoyed writing it. The Dr. Seuss books were a staple in almost everyone’s home when I was growing up. I have never heard of David’s Father but I will now have to look for it. I don’t think we are ever too old to re-read or read children’s books. I feel that there is always a part of us that remains a curious child, if we only don’t crush it and set it free. I am sure that we must of read Charlotte’s Web when I was a kid as it was first published in 1952. I take it that you are probably still a avid reader due to your thirst for books as a child.

Leave a Reply

