What Was The Last Thing You Got Really Excited About?

 

Try to remember your first kiss or rock concert or perhaps the first time you drove. When you are young and experiencing life for the first time, there are moments that are so exhilarating that they take your breath away.

Then age happens…as you mature you become jaded and less amazed about adventures, nothing ever feels like the first time. The older you become the less impressive new ideas become, in other words, you have seen it and done it all or at least that is how you feel.

For me learning to play guitar at 13 was one of the most thrilling periods of my life. I can’t say that I have ever felt that way since. I continued to play guitar, mandolin and sing from age 13 to well into my 30’s. There were the constant jam sessions and open mike nights; every time I played and sang in front of a live audience it was new, different and electrifying.

Time and medications have now taken it toll on my mind; my memory isn’t what it used to be (I now have to write everything down and use the Google calendar). The odd time, I think I want to take a stab at it, but it becomes so frustrating trying to remember lyrics. I think to myself why put myself through the agony and misery, so for now I have my two guitars hanging on the wall collecting dust. My days of music are nothing, but a faded memory now.

In lieu of the guitar, I have now taken up art again, yes again. The last time I painted anything I must have been in my late teen or early twenties. This revisited endeavour is kind of “exciting”. At the moment, I am not sure what medium I want to focus on so I am trying different avenues, from pastels, water-colour pencils to paints. I am having fun looking up tutorials online and trying my hand at the different aspects of art. I don’t think I will ever be a Frida Kahlo, Georgia O’Keeffe or Emily Carr, but at least it is something that doesn’t frustrate me and I can honestly say it is stimulating. I even have dreams of painting and when that happens it must mean something.

3 thoughts on “What Was The Last Thing You Got Really Excited About?

  1. Life has it’s ups and downs. Life can’t be always a high. For some people the glass is always half empty . For some it is always half full. When you wake up in the morning and the sun is shining it can be a high. Feeling good can be so unexpected and wonderful.

  2. I don’t remember the last time I felt some kind of a high; then I realized that blogging is my preferred way of communicating. I write about memories, political events, family matters, etc.
    This gives me satisfaction that nothing else does. I’m putting myself “out there”.

  3. Smokinglady, that is what blogging is for to get your feelings out no matter what, good, bad or indifferent. It isn’t anyone else’s opinion that matters just yours, we don’t write or blog to be judged by others…we do a good enough job of judging ourselves. I am glad that blogging gives you satisfaction, because it sure helps me, I just wish I could be more prolific.

Leave a Reply

